Am I embarrassed that it took me two months to memorize the name “Yururirapo”? Yes. Does that mean I’m going to retire from the internet? Of course not. If anything I’m going to unretire from the internet.

28 Jun

Yururirapo is a new-gen™ indie idol group that debuted in February. Their concept is healing and relaxation, with the name of the group derived from the Japanese word “yururi,” which means “relaxed,” and “rapo” which I think means “Beautiful girl with pure heart, soft hair, creamy skin, super-model body, and rocket-scientist brain.” When the group was introduced, each member was revealed individually via a short video on YouTube, beginning with Asami Oda on Monday, and continuing each successive day with a new member: Marina Murakami, Miyu Yanome, Sachiko Umakoshi, and Rena Shinkai. Marina and Sachiko are former members of predia and Asami is a former gravure model who was at one point *somewhat* popular, at least enough to release a solo mini-album in 2008. Technically she may still be a model, since she just released an image video a few months ago, although it seems like a one-off thing similar to Sakurako releasing a gravure video last November. Yururirapo’s motto is “Relax no sekai e yokoso,” which means something like “Welcome to the world of relaxation” or “Welcome to the relaxing world.”

Doesn’t that sound great after a long day in the coal mines and a double shift at the hot dog factory?!–Unless you are the type who would rather wait for an idol group to welcome you to the world of destruction and anarchy? (in which case you should check out this group)

Asami has already become one of my favorite idols, so onward to the world of relaxation!

In completely unrelated news, would I call myself a TIF “expert”?
No. I prefer the term guru. Actually, that word is weird. Yeah, I’m an expert.
TIF recently updated their “Guide/FAQ.” I would suggest reading this document veeeeeery closely.

And then ignore everything you read because none of that will be enforced!

More importantly all of the iDOL Street groups will be attending TIF this year. After six weeks of updates with groups that no one knew existed, actual real-life groups were added. I mean, Puchi PASSPO and Sendai Syrup?–those groups don’t exist! TIF stop making up names!

Now please invite Yururaruriraporu!

7 Responses to “Am I embarrassed that it took me two months to memorize the name “Yururirapo”? Yes. Does that mean I’m going to retire from the internet? Of course not. If anything I’m going to unretire from the internet.”

  1. Yururirapo is the best!! :D

    This was actually just posted around 20 minutes ago: Oda Asami is going to appear in a stage play in October! Yay!

    I hope you’ll be able to find their indies debut CD when you go to Tokyo. ;_;

    PPRC-0011 / ¥926(税抜価格)+税
    発売元:プラチナム・パスポート
    販売元:PCI MUSIC
    タワーレコード渋谷店、新宿店、池袋店、横浜ビブレ店 限定販売
    ^ Tower Records: Shibuya, Shinjuku, Ikebukuro & Yokohama Vivre Shop.

    You should go and see Puchi PASSPO if you have the time. Riko knows English so you can talk to her. :P

    • Shaun 2015/06/28 at 8:59 pm #

      They are the best! Or at least top 20!

      That’s great news for Asami fans! And since it’s October, that is technically still summer!–so there could be bikinis :)

      And I will definitely purchase one copy of their single. I tend to get lost when searching for specific record stores, but I could just ask random people on the street for help, “Excuse me, where can I purchase Yururaruriraporu’s debut single that I forgot the name of?”

      And then @TIF
      Me: Riko, where can I purchase Yururaruriraporu’s debut single that I forgot the name of?
      Riko: No English!!

  2. wattstax17 2015/06/28 at 10:03 pm #

    How come that Platinum made such fuss about Petit Passpo but completely neglected any news regarding Yurirapapo or whatever? The line up really looks fantastic (Predia members!). With Asami having released an album in 2008 she seems to be ‘older’ too. (Or do women that age prefer being called ‘experienced’? But this has a strange conontation as well, when talking about girls formerly in gravure. Hmm…)

    But I will look out for them at Platinum Sonic, for sure! If buying there CD gives me a cheki, I buy you one too. I can use the chance to introduce you already to Asami (“If you see a creepy foreigner guy in front row, that is him!”)

    I want to talk to Riko, but mostly of the fact she is the sister of Yukki. But paying money to talk with a 13-year old girl? OMG! Maybe I bring my own sister to talk with her. She can check her Korean.

    • Shaun 2015/06/28 at 11:48 pm #

      I’m sure age is a huge factor that determines the idols and groups an agency will push–which is one of the reasons it would have been advantageous if the members were a few years younger (they are 23-26). I think the lineup is great though and easily one of the most attractive… and sexy! For once I can’t complain about the length of the skirts :)

      Hopefully their cheki event won’t interfere with other performances at Platinum Sonic. And it is my dream to see them from the front row. Yes, I have very superficial dreams :D

  3. Marty (@jpidoldeath) 2015/07/09 at 6:16 am #

    Oh boy, I read this entry a while ago but never paid much attention to the video, I saw a tweet from Noodol Cafe https://twitter.com/noodolcafe/status/619069835247403008 and I think I just feel in love with her :/

    • Shaun 2015/07/09 at 1:14 pm #

      Yururirapo is the type of group where you can say “I like the hot member,” and the person you are chatting with will reply, “Yeah, I like the hot member also. For once we agree on something!” and then random people will barge into the conversation and say “Hey, I like the hot member also!” “Yeah, me too! Hot member!!” “Let’s all go to Noodol Cafe and talk to her!”

      Unknowingly everyone is referring to a different girl.

      You should check out Noodol Cafe if it fits your schedule. I’m actually surprised it still exists. When they opened it in 2012 it seemed like the kind of venture that wouldn’t last more than a few months.

      • Marty (@jpidoldeath) 2015/07/09 at 3:02 pm #

        LOL, yeah everyone has their own preference but she obviously is THE hot member in that group ;)

        As for Noodol cafe they seem to have different idols daily but I don’t think I’ll go there (well at least no alone).

Leave a Reply

