I like TIF, but I’m not an expert. Well, maybe I’m an expert.       Ok, I’m an expert.

31 May


Since TIF is only 83 days away I’m going to start sharing some TIF advice. And you’re welcome.

It’s either that or write about how Runapon has so much inner and outer beauty that sometimes I can’t even look at her. It’s like, “OMG, I’m blinded by inner beauty!” And then a second later, “OMG, too much outer beauty!”

Anyway, when planning the perfect TIF schedule pay attention to the shows with names like “Osaka Something Something Party” and “Chubby Idol Jamboree”
Most of the stages at TIF are set up to allow fans to enter and exit whenever they want. This makes it easy to follow your favorite groups and watch predia from the front row–if that’s your thing. However, there are a few “special” stages that are treated differently and in order to watch you’ll have to actually get in a queue and at the conclusion of the performance leave the stage. [Stephanie Tanner: How rude!] This is easier explained by the timetable:

If you want to watch one of the shows that are highlighted in yellow (like TIF 2014 x Idol Jam Z Special Stage), you would have to arrive at the stage prior to the start and get in a queue that is specifically set up for that show. For some of these, pretty much anything with Idoling, you would have to arrive 30-60 minutes early. Total waste of time obviously, but this unintentionally happened to me last year because I wanted to see a group called READY TO KISS. My plan was to arrive at Enjoy Stadium early in order to check out TIF x Idol Jam Z since Street-sei was participating and by arriving super early I’d eventually have front row for READY TO KISS. Unfortunately, when I arrived there was a massive queue outside the venue and getting in was impossible. And yes, I tried to force my way through, but it didn’t work! So I ended up waiting an hour for the Idol Jam show to finish and for TIF staff to clear out the venue before it was reopened to resume normal performances. If none of this makes sense, just nod and pretend it does. The main problem with these special stages is having to leave at the conclusion of the show, which prevents you from watching the group performing immediately afterward. If both shows involve your favorite group, you’d have to choose one or the other, or watch the first, leave as fast as possible by pushing people out of your way, and then re-enter the stage at which point you would be in the back row–unless you force your way to the front, which trust me, is much harder than it seems. After you’ve pushed 10 people, you’re going to get pretty tired. After pushing 20 people, you’ll probably collapse and be forced to take a nap right then and there. So pay attention to these shows when planning your schedule!

Also try to organize your TIF schedule so it doesn’t look like this:

And everyone, please stop talking about Secret Court!!
It’s because everyone keeps talking about Secret Court for no reason whatsoever that Secret Court now looks like this
instead of this If we could just stop talking about Secret Court, Secret Court would be like, *rumble rumble–crashes through the roof of Fuji Studio* “It’s me Secret Court! I’m baaack. And don’t worry it’s ok to talk about me now!” 

So everyone, please stop talking about Secret Court, ok?

Hey, let’s start a global campaign to bring back Secret Court!
To the twitterverse! They must hear our demands: the Return of Secret Court, a 100% increase in bikini stages, and um… free ice cream for everyone!  [I thought we weren’t supposed to talk about Secret Court] Oh yeah, nevermind.

Can we talk about IDOL NATION now?
IDOL NATION is on August 3, the day after TIF, and SUPER☆GiRLS, Doll☆Elements, Idoling, and World Standard will be performing. Although I’m surprised Doll☆Elements is in the lineup, this means I’m halfway towards my goal of seeing them 10 times this trip. That’s so GEM!™ Speaking of GEM, hopefully they’ll be there also, although they already have something booked that day. I’ll enter the ticket lottery tomorrow, but I grow bored of this topic, next!

Something something Anime Expo
Anime Expo (AX) is a yearly anime/ Japanese pop culture convention in Los Angeles that usually features at least one J-pop group or solo artist. In the past six years, this has included groups like Morning Musume, AKB48, Kalafina, and soloist Erina Mano. This year Momoiro Clover Z will be performing *golf clap*. I don’t actively follow them, but I was briefly a fan in 2010 when Momoka joined and Akari was still in the group. That’s when I discovered PASSPO and it was literally game over for every other idol group for two years. The concert should be fun though, and I’ll purchase my AX ticket this week. Well, that’s about it… wait a sec, OMG I just had a crazy idea!

Doll☆Elements should perform at Secret Court!

12 Responses to “I like TIF, but I’m not an expert. Well, maybe I’m an expert.       Ok, I’m an expert.”

  1. wattstax17 2015/06/01 at 1:23 am #

    Thanks for the advice. I really didn’t now about them requiring fans to leave after Special Shows. Hopefully my schedule has no need for it.
    What is the point of your picture displaying several circled performances? Isn’t it useful in your opinion to mark all the shows of interest and then decide on the situation?

    And I am sorry to tell you, but a 100% increase of none-existing (=0) Bikini stages is still zero. ;)

  2. wattstax17 2015/06/01 at 1:24 am #

    Oh, and isn’t Akari still with MomoClo? She is the pink one, isn’t she?

    • Jo 2015/06/01 at 7:04 pm #

      Akari was the blue member and left Momoiro Clover back in 2011. The pink member is Ayaka, who has been getting some criticisms from Japanese netizens lately because she’s “fat“.

      • wattstax17 2015/06/02 at 5:17 am #

        Ah, I only remembered the name starting with an “A”. I like their music but don’t follow them in detail.
        But to be honest I too think of her as chubby. Now I understand why Shaun wants to go there.

  3. Jo 2015/06/01 at 7:00 pm #

    You forgot to put BiSH in your TIF2015 picture! It’ll be totally worth it to see them in person performing the same song 3 times in a row right? :D … :D!!!!!

    I love how GEM and predia aren’t circled in that timetable chart.

    Secret Court looks so sad and depressing. :'(

    I had no idea you liked Momoiro Clover Z. I loved their indies debut song Momoiro Punch, it remains my favourite song from the group ever – even though they’re a completely different kind of group now.

    <That’s when I discovered PASSPO and it was literally game over for every other idol group for two years. The concert should be fun though, and I’ll purchase my AX ticket this week. Well, that’s about it… wait a sec, OMG I just had a crazy idea!

    Doll☆Elements should perform at Secret Court!

    lol at “literally game over for every other idol group for two years.” I KNOW. T___T

    I totally thought you crazy idea would be Doll Elements should perform at Anime Expo one day, but you just had to say Secret Court. That place looks like a car park!

  4. Shaun 2015/06/01 at 11:45 pm #

    @Jo: Thanks, I now know a third member’s name :D Previously I only knew Momoka and Shiori (and Akari). I’m not a fan, it’s mainly just curiosity and a sense of obligation, since the concert venue is really close, and there are probably overseas fans who would like to see them and aren’t able to. Maybe I can fit BiSH’s logo in the “D” of Idol. Most groups get a 15-20 minute time-slot per stage, but for BiSH it will be like “Oh cool, they got 20 minutes. Just enough time for one song” :D And I would love DE to perform abroad, but they have to conquer Japan first :)

    @ wattstax: That was my TIF schedule from 2013. I cloned myself that year and was able to enjoy every stage simultaneously. It’s just exhausting, which is why I don’t recommend it. And while re-reading that part I realized the syntax was poor so I rewrote it to make the joke more clear.

    • Since you’re a Chubbiness fan, I hope you will give Ayaka lots of support when they’re performing at AX! :P Akari was my favourite member. Did you ever end up watching Cheerfu11y, the movie with PASSPO and Kikkawa Yuu? Hayami Akari is in it too and there’s a minor storyline involving her that you might like, maybe..

      omg it was so funny how BiSH literally performed the same song 3 times in a row, and we were caught off guard every time. I can’t even remember what we were talking about but you were saying something and you completely lost your train of thought because they were performing that song again. I’m just glad you had a positive (I THINK, lol) first impression of them after seeing them.

      I think it’s very possible for Doll Elements to perform overseas without being a super popular group. There’s lots of relatively unknown J-pop idols that get invited to various anime/Japan expos who are barely known in Japan (example). I’m not sure how it works but I guess you just need to convince the people running the conventions to invite them over or something. You need to get on the staff team for AX 2016 and personally invite Doll Elements to USA to perform! It’s the perfect plan, what could go wrong? :D

  5. Infzer0 2015/06/19 at 2:00 pm #

    Hey there..long time never read your blog, and i just realized you like Runapon as well. Doll Elements went to Indonesia a few weeks ago, and guess what…i got addicted to Runapon as well . Haha. Got some pics of her at my blog (which i finally update after some time)

    http://www.20daysinjapan.akbingo.org/?p=404

    By the way, see you at TIF2015 (as usual).

    PS : That Secret Court Joke…i think only those went for TIF2012 will get it lol!

    • Shaun 2015/06/19 at 2:37 pm #

      Sweet!! I’m glad you are going to TIF again. I wasn’t sure if you were since I check your blog and you hadn’t mentioned it. Did you get the free ticket for non-residents? If so let’s meet up when we receive our wristbands. And the Secret Court joke is totally obscure, lol. Even people who went to TIF 2012 would probably think “What the f-junk is Secret Court?” :D

      I was also hoping you would check out Doll Elements when they visited Indonesia, but I wasn’t sure if you would be interested. When I first saw Runapon at TIF last year, I was immediately attracted to her, even though I didn’t know much about the group at the time. She is someone who looks amazing in person. And great pics at your site.

      @Jo, sorry for the late reply. I do that a lot [potato_emoji] I watched the unsubbed version of Cheerfu11y years ago, but never the subbed version, although I have it on my hdd. I’ll force myself to watch it one of these days :)

      • Infzer0 2015/06/19 at 2:55 pm #

        @Shaun yea i got the free ticket for non resident as well…in fact some of my friends from Malaysia and Singapore also got it and they’re going as well…it will be funny to see all the foreigners getting their free tickets there lol. My friend also told me that the best way to meet up is there, since confirm we’ll all be seeing each other anyway to collect the tickets xD

        As for Runapon… she is really cute lol…for the event in jakarta i got a media pass and my job is to take their pictures. I got addicted immediately and took alot pics of her (i think 60% of my pics that day is runapon’s xD)

        The 2nd day they have a meet and greet so i just went as a normal “casual” fan instead of my media job and stuffs.

        I still didnt like some of their song though (Doll Elements). I didnt even buy the album, but then some japanese wotas who came for the event gave me the album for free (as they went for alot handshakes) and i even tried listening the whole album … too bad i still can’t get into it haha.

        I’ll still pay her a visit during TIF or the Idol nation though, cuz i already promise to her during the Meet and Greet that i’d see her again soon lol…she is really a nice gal to talk to.

  6. Shaun 2015/06/19 at 3:31 pm #

    I’m an idiot because you explained that you got the free ticket in your blog. I should have read the entire entry before replying :D

    Their music is either hit or miss. At their concerts there are definitely songs I wish they would retire, and others that I wish they would add to their normal rotation. I think their new output has been really good though. I uploaded their last two singles at jpopsuki if you want to give it a try, you may like them more than the album, since they’ve modernized their style (more rock and edm). Their b-sides in particular are amazing imo.

    • Infzer0 2015/06/19 at 3:53 pm #

      Ah i see…they have 2 different type of albums with different tracklist right…i have both of those. Didnt have the singles yet, i thought they will be in the album already lol… will check it out later, thanks for the info :)

Leave a Reply

