Did iDOL Street just reveal the candidates for the “4th group”??

12 Nov

Before I get to that… Sutorigu 2 had it’s mid-term “Chuukan Happyo” Special on 11.4. One of the actors from the SUPER☆GiRLS drama “Chozetsu Zekyou Land” was the MC and I thought he did a pretty good job (despite acting like a total dork and getting no love from the Niconico viewers). During the broadcast they revealed the location for the Sutorigu 2 finale and introduced a new Street-sei team based in Sendai (their first mission is to recruit/steal Koume from Party Rockets). They also updated the MVP Top 10 which is the only reason I am writing about this event.

A little background on the top 10 *puts on glasses and throws a log on the fire*
When the season began fans could vote for their favorite Street-sei member and also track the number of votes each girl was receiving. It was a little awkward when some members were receiving zero votes (even super unpopular idols usually have a few rabid fans). I wrote about the results back in August because the voting started getting weird when Runa suddenly went from being out of the top 10 to number 1. Saku fans all over the world then went crazy and began filing official protests with their local governments. Shortly afterward they took down all the voting results. Since it’s been more than two months since the last update I figured there would be a few changes in the rankings, but the usual suspects would be there. I also thought there would be some unexpected surprises because IDOL Street fans in Japan are notorious for being losers. So I figured the Top 10 would be a mix of the “aces” and whoever the fans arbitrarily chose to push. Well that’s enough rambling, heres the current rankings:

Midterm Top 10

i_kidoguchi_sakurako_on

1

i_katou_rihona_on

2

i_hoji_seira_on

3

i_hirokawa_nanase_on

4

i_kawai_ayaka_on

5

i_yokoyama_nao_on

6

i_ishikawa_momoko_on

7

i_asakawa_nana_on

8

i_kodama_ririka_on

9

i_sakamoto_hazuki_on

10

I was lazy and didn’t track all the results, but at the time of the last update in August the rankings were:
1. Runa
2. Saku
3. Naapon
4. Ayaka
5. Honoka
6. Rihona

The Top 10 is definitely not what I expected. Honestly for me, it’s 50% good and 50%… the opposite of good. Some of it is predictable, but some of it is totally unexplainable. First the good: Saku and Rihona are 1 and 2. Although Saku’s progress totally stalled, I still think she is worthy of being a frontgirl. After finishing Sutorigu 1 so strongly and continuing to build momentum at the start of season 2, it’s annoying that she went back into her shell and has totally coasted the last several concerts. Rihona on the other hand is literally transforming into the Street-sei ace. I’ve always liked her, although in Sutorigu 1 it didn’t seem like she was totally committed, otherwise she probably could have been in GEM considering she was ranked 8th in the first MVP vote. She’s definitely leveled up recently and I could see her passing Saku in the voting. Depends on how many votes currently separate them and unfortunately they aren’t disclosing the numbers anymore. Haachin making the top 10 is also awesome. I’ve become a huge fan of hers. Naapon‘s drop was expected, but I’m relieved she’s still in the top 10. I think she might get back some of her support since she kind of snapped at the Niconico viewers during the Tokyo vs Osaka concert. Tokyo only got 30% of the Nico vote and Naapon started crying and went on a mini-rant before another member wisely took the mic from her. Also glad Ririka is in the top ten, I expect her popularity to continue to rise, possibly at the expense of Saku.

And now for the “bad.” If you don’t want to read a poorly written rant about the Street-sei members I don’t personally want in the 4th group please skip the following paragraph.

I have no idea how Nanase and Nao are ranked so high. Seriously weird. No offense to either, but I wouldn’t even expect  Nanase in the top 15 and Nao in the top 20. My only explanation is they have a lot of friends and family voting. Although I would assume that there are rules within iDOL Street forbidding that, since it would mess up the competition. The fact that some members were receiving zero votes, does make it seem like there are some rules in place – otherwise couldn’t they get as least one friend or family member to vote for them? I know idol fandom is completely subjective, but neither Nanase nor Nao are great singers, good looking, good dancers, good looking, or particularly interesting. Or good looking.

I’m not a fan of Momoko either, but she’s third gen so I can’t complain too much. I can still complain a little though! However, any 2nd or 3rd gen member who makes the next group did their time and deserve a spot. Same with Ayaka, although I like her much more than Momoko. I’m kind of torn about Seira. On one hand she seems really nice, hard working, and a decent talent… but being ranked #3 puts her in a great spot to be in the 4th group. I guess I wouldn’t mind if she was in the 4th group, she’s just not my preference.

Members that I am really surprised are not in the Top 10:
Honoka: I really don’t get how Nao is ranked higher than her. It’s even crazier that Nao is ranked higher than Ririka.
Runa: She went from #1 to out of the top 10.
Riko: She’s one of the aces and needs to be in the 4th group. Of all the girl’s not in the top 10 this annoys me the most because she should be a lock.

Just for some perspective here’s the Top 10 for the first Sutorigu (and what ended up happening with that member)
1. Yuki Kanazawa (joined GEM)
2. Maya Takeda (joined GEM)
3. Chisami Ito (joined GEM)
4. Rana Murakami (joined GEM)
5. Yuu Morioka (joined GEM)
6T. Nagi Ozeki (graduated)
6T. Mayu Aito (graduated)
8. Rihona Kato (remained in Street-sei)
9. Nana Asakawa (remained in Street-sei)
10. Natsumi Kanehama (graduated)

Last years top 10 is interesting to me because 1) only half of the girls ended up in the final GEM lineup which means the current top 10 isn’t necessarily representative of the lineup for the 4th group and 2) a LOT of Street-sei members graduated (from the top 10 and also just in general) which means a lot of Street-sei members will probably graduate this year. The saddest thing about Sutorigu last year was the number of girls that started graduating as the competition came to a close (and then continued to graduate before season two began).

This is my current Top 10 aka “Please let this be the lineup for the 4th group”

i_katou_rihona_on

1

i_kidoguchi_sakurako_on

2

i_sakamoto_hazuki_on

3

i_tsukiyama_kyouka_on

4

i_yonemitsu_riko_on

5

i_kodama_ririka_on

6

i_asakawa_nana_on

7

i_yoshimoto_honoka_on

8

i_asano_yukine_on

9

i_kinjo_narumi_on

10

Technically I’d prefer just my top nine members in the 4th group. Even though I like Narumi, her hypothetical inclusion would make her the oldest member and by default she would become the leader. The main reason I want Yukipa in the group is for her leadership (her singing skills and interesting personality are bonuses). I also think she is pretty, but I may be in the minority on that. Narumi also has leadership skills, but the age of my Top 10 is pretty high by idol standards (3 18+ and a 17 year old) and includes too many “unpopular” members. It’s an unrealistic lineup but I’m still pushing for it (most of my MVP votes are going to Kyonchan, Saku, Riko, Haachin, and Rihona). For the record I would be fine with Risa, Seira, or Ayaka as the 10th member. 

Ok, back to the “Did iDOL Street just reveal the candidates for the 4th group??” topic. December 22 is the iDOL Street Christmas concert. At last year’s event GEM was revealed. Because of the timing of Sutorigu 2 I’ve been predicting a similar announcement will be made about the 4th group at this years concert. The other day the iDOL Street website mentioned 18 street-sei members would participate.  Since the 18 members are from all five Street-sei teams, there is a good chance the following are the current front-runners for the next group:

i_kidoguchi_sakurako_oni_kudo_yumemo_oni_kodama_ririka_oni_yokoyama_nao_oni_yoshimoto_honoka_oni_asakawa_nana_oni_uchimura_risa_oni_ogata_momo_oni_katou_rihona_oni_kinjo_narumi_oni_ishikawa_momoko_oni_ozawa_runa_oni_kawai_ayaka_oni_mishina_ruka_oni_sakamoto_hazuki_oni_hoji_seira_oni_matsuda_miri_oni_hirokawa_nanase_onhttp://idolstreet.jp/news/20131112.html
Saku, Rihona, Naapon, and Haachin are pretty much locks so I’m not too worried about them. But Riko not being there is an idol travesty. She’s one of the best singers in Street-sei. And she’s super cute, which is even more important! And Yukipa exclusion is really messed up considering her tenure. (Stephanie Tanner: “How rude!”) If these are the candidates for the 4th group then only six of my favorite members are currently in the running. Those aren’t the greatest odds. Of course this is all based on the idea that this list is actually representative of something. It could be purely coincidental or based on the availability of certain members. Considering how formulaic iDOL Street is, that seems unlikely though. My top 10 from the above list would be: (1) Rihona, (2) Saku, (3) Haachin, (4) Naapon, (5) Ririka, (6) Honoka, (7) Narumi, (8) Risa, (9) Ayaka, and (10) Seira. I’d rather not think about a group without Riko though.

The 4th group can rival GEM… they just need to copy my top 10!

But everyone knows I’m still a huge fan of the 4th group. Even if they don’t technically exist.

Completely unrelated to everything I just wrote, I received my copy of the SUPER☆GiRLS Budokan Something-something Concert!

iscbiscaI’m not sure when I’ll be able to watch it. Maybe in December. I’ve been so busy I haven’t even watched the Celebration Tour concert yet. 

One Response to “Did iDOL Street just reveal the candidates for the “4th group”??”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Fourth iDOL Street group is coming in April. Try not to die before then. | SUPER GiRL Talk - 2015/01/25

    […] means my random fourth group predictions, editorials, prophecies, fanfics, conjectures, and ramblings were not completely […]

Leave a Reply

